Juggling Mom
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Juggling Mom

Discussion for moms who do it all

You are not connected. Please login or register

Emergency medicine or internal medicine?

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Emergency medicine or internal medicine? Empty Emergency medicine or internal medicine? Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:57 pm

shay

I'm a 4th year med student applying for the match right now. I just finished interviewing in both internal medicine and emergency medicine and am trying to decide between the 2. Since i love them both, it's coming down to flexibility of lifestyle after residency. I don't have a family yet, but plan on having my first baby right at the end of residency. I would like to find a situation where I can make good money working 3 days a week? or so. The thing is, I don't know what it's REALLY like for EM physicians after residency and in the community. How hard is it to find the part time jobs in desirable locations? Are there actually places with nocturnists that are common so you don't work a ton of overnights? What's the real scoop? I have to rank in a month so any insight would be so helpful.

EMphysician

I actually am very happy with my choice of EM. It's kinda weird, because my answer to the question changes as the years go by as to the "why" I like it.

Today, I'm happy with EM because I can make *almost* 2K each time I work, so working 6 shifts/month brings in over 10K (minus taxes). I can live on 10K! And I'm gone 6 days/month (one overnight). I have 3 kids now, and am trying to get into yoga, meditation, and other things that are good for me